9

Darth is a title for Sith Lords. If Palpatine/Sidious no longer accepts him as his apprentice, does he still bear the title of Darth?

  • Is a Shaolin monk still a Shaolin monk if he gets thrown out of the temple?? He still has the same skillset, same training, maybe even same beliefs. – Cherubel Jan 5 '16 at 7:40
  • Ahsoka Tano has the skills of a Jedi Padawan-cum-Clone War veteran, and is still a Jedi at heart, yet she cannot be said to be officially Jedi, as she has formally left the Order - she is at best a former Jedi. Finis Valorum bears the title of Supreme Chancellor only for as long as he is the current holder of the office. Not all titles are permanent and for life like that of the US President. Furthermore, is a person still a lord of his domain if he is no longer recognized as such, but nonetheless is as skilled and committed as before? – thegreatjedi Jan 5 '16 at 8:07
  • @Cherubel I've my own opinion to this question's answer, but it's not backed by fact and is contrary to convention, so I seek truth. – thegreatjedi Jan 5 '16 at 8:10
  • Sure, if he kills the previous Darth? – Theik Jan 5 '16 at 9:03
  • If you think of it in military terms then sure, he isn't a Darth anymore. But a Darth is the same as a Jedi. It is a "titular" description of somebody. Their abilities and level of training/commitment. A Padawan is a padawan until he or she can advance enough to become a jedi and then advance even more to become a Master. If said Master leaves the Jedi temple that person is still advanced and skilled enough to be considered a Master Jedi. A Black belt practitioner of Karate that gets thrown out of his/her dojo is still a master. Regardless if he/she is in a certain dojo or not. – Cherubel Jan 5 '16 at 10:34
6

I would say "no", but it's a conjecture and not an undisputable canon fact.

  • First of all, it really depends on your point of view

    • You can view the name/designation as something that someone calls themselves, in isolation. From that point of view, Darth Maul is still Darth if he chooses to say so. However, nobody else is obligated to agree with him and call him that.

    • You can view the name/designation as part of a specific culture, imposing specific meanings and specific customs. In that case, what matters is whether the desired designation will be accepted by that culture as a whole, or its thought leaders (which, in case of Rule of Two Sith, pretty much amounts to the same small set).



  • If we take the point of view of "this name is a part of specific tradition/culture and thus should obey its rules", then the answer is "NO"

    The basis for that is that in this case it's the Sith Master who typically bestows the name on their apprentice (as evidenced in ROTS dialogue when Sidious names Darth Vader).

    Given the circumstances of Darth Maul's upbringing detailed in Maul books (he was brought to Palpatine as a baby by his mother and raised/trained by him), he was most assuredly named by Sidious as well.

    This means that the name is connected to and thus contingent on the apprenticeship, within the norms of their culture.

    You can work around this rule in two ways:

    • Kill your Master and become the Master yourself. Then you have the position to name yourself whatever you want.

    • Become a Sith Master yourself (ala Darth Krayt), again basically granting yourself the right to call yourself anything you want.

    As such, that name/title is granted by the Master, and therefor is subject to the continued acceptance of the Master

| improve this answer | |
  • That's where the conflict comes in, I guess. Is Darth a title that can be self-conferred, or is it one that only the Order of the Sith may grant? In fact, does Maul even call himself Darth anymore, or is it just the human colony on planet Earth? – thegreatjedi Jan 6 '16 at 1:43
  • So if we imagine that another dabbler in the dark side rose up at the same time as Krayat and named himself master... how would they resolve it? Head to head contest and the best alien wins? what if they both die? do their apprentices become de facto masters? No! coz they werent the ones to kill the masters. What then?? Tradition was broken by Bane. As all practitioners of the dark side were Darhts before he changed it. So it is as it always has been. Might makes right! If you are powerfull enough you call the shots no matter what the norm or tradition is. – Cherubel Jan 6 '16 at 7:10
  • @thegreatjedi - the answer depends ENTIRELY on who you ask. Clearly, all the Darths who self-named (up to Krayt) thought they could. Presumably, people like Sidious would disagree. – DVK-on-Ahch-To Jan 6 '16 at 7:14
4

No.

The Star Wars in 100 Scenes factbook explicitly states that ...

At any one time, only two Sith may use the title of "Darth" - The current master and his or her apprentice

Since Maul is no longer the Master or the chosen apprentice, his title is void.

| improve this answer | |
4

No

Sidious directly states that Maul is no longer a Sith, and therefore no longer a true Darth, in the Star Wars: The Clone Wars episode The Lawless:

Darth Sidious: [to Maul] Remember, the first and only reality of the Sith. There can only be two. And you are no longer my apprentice. You have been replaced.

Additionally, the Season 2 finale of Star Wars: Rebels has Maul definitively state that he isn't a Darth anymore.

Maul: Formerly Darth, now just Maul.

| improve this answer | |
-1

He is a Darth until proven otherwise

That is to say that until he is challenged about using the title and loses then he is in fact still a Darth. The whole premise of the Sith is that you have to constantly prove yourself worthy. They value strength more than anything else it's the whole point of the rule of two. Basically since Maul was strong enough to survive being cut in half and thrown down a bottomless (this is a bit of a hyperbole) pit than he still deserves the title. So he remains a Darth until Sidious later kills him and his apprentice and proves him not strong enough. As for Sidious not accepting him as an apprentice, that is only because he believed Maul to be dead and he had another apprentice so Maul was nothing but an obstacle to be removed.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    But if the title of Darth may only be wielded by a Lord of the Sith, and there can only be two Sith at any time, there are already two Darths, and Sidious decides Maul is no longer his apprentice... – thegreatjedi Mar 18 '16 at 11:11
  • Alas, this answer is 100% wrong, at least using the Disney canon as a measure. – Valorum Mar 18 '16 at 11:56
  • @thegreatjedi technically Maul was still a Sith since he never challenged Sidious for the title and he didn't die in the Shaft so he nothing happened that would make him lose the title of Darth – The Mandolorian Mar 18 '16 at 19:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.