I was wondering: there is a lot of lore in Star Wars: The Old Republic, and some events could be seen as contradictions. What level of canon is given to this game?


3 Answers 3



All games are C-canon (other than those explicitly excluded, like Star Wars Galaxies)



As per Pablo Hidalgo on Twitter, it's EU/Legends

Yeah SWTOR is a continuation of our Legends/SWEU storytelling
3:32 PM - 9 Jan 2017

  • G (George Lucas) canon is absolute canon. This category includes the final releases of the six films, the novelizations of the films, the radio dramas based on the films, the film scripts, and any material found in any other source (published or not) that comes directly from George Lucas himself. G canon outranks all other forms of canon.

  • T (Television) canon, which currently comprises Star Wars: The Clone Wars and the as yet unaired live action Star Wars TV series. This level of canon is considered to take precedence over C canon (see below), possibly due to the fact that George Lucas is directly involved with these shows as executive producer, and in the case of The Clone Wars is also on the writing team.

  • C (continuity) canon refers to the main body of EU work, and is the next most authoritative level of canon. All material published under the Star Wars label that doesn't fall into either G, T, S, or N canon is C canon and is considered authoritative as long as it isn't contradicted by G canon.

  • S (secondary) canon refers to older, less accurate, or less coherent EU works, which would not ordinarily fit in the main continuity of G and C canon. For example, this includes the popular online roleplaying game Star Wars Galaxies, and certain elements of a few N-canon stories.

  • N continuity material is also known as "non-canon" or "non-continuity" material. What-if stories (such as those published under the Infinities label) and anything else that cannot at all fit into continuity is placed into this category. "N-continuity" is not considered canon.

Shamelessly stealing DVK's Link as source

I am pretty sure the TOR would fall into the S category because it mixes elements of C cannon (Persistant in world Major NPC's and lore) with elements of non cannon - Basically all PC Actions, exchanges, and generic NPCs.

  • 1
    I think it's more nuanced - the game itself is "C" and the conflicting elements (non-canon PC actions) are non-canon (or S) without affecting the entire game. This was the deal with KOTR if I recall correctly Commented Mar 21, 2012 at 18:58
  • @DVK TOR is mmorpg like Galaxies rather than KotOR(Knghts of the Old Republic(a linear rpg action game)) which i would agree would be C... now to find some more acronyms i can drop :p
    – Chad
    Commented Mar 21, 2012 at 19:05
  • I agree with DVK, I would think there's a C-canon version of the quests/events in SWTOR, and all other possibilities given to the player are N-canon. Commented Oct 15, 2012 at 21:59
  • @MatthewRead - It is more complicated than that. The story behind the quest is C-Canon but once you get into doing the quest it becomes non-canon when the player characters get involved. There are probably elements of C canon mixed in where NPC's take scripted actions.
    – Chad
    Commented Oct 16, 2012 at 13:23
  • That's exactly what I intended to say :P Commented Oct 16, 2012 at 19:43

Certain elements of Player involvement are C-canon; Scripted or Linear outcomes are to be considered C-canon.

Minor Spoilers Below

Example: all interactions with Revan have singular outcomes, in itself confirming the C-canon status of Revan before, during and directly after SW:TOR, The C-Canon PC involvement in the Maelstrom could be interpreted as 1. Jedi Knight, 1. Smuggler, 1 Jedi Consular and 1. Trooper, The Identity, Advanced Class and Alignment all being S-canon so the player can have their own version of events in "official" canon.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.