I want to read the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, but looking around it's managed to confuse me with the proliferation of volumes, chapters and timelines. What order should I read the various editions in, and how do they fit into an overall timeline?


3 Answers 3


When in doubt, read the by publishing order. Which is, to date:

  1. League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Volume 1 (Set in Victorian times)
  2. League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Volume 2 (Closely follows the previous volume)
  3. The Black Dossier (The year 1958)
  4. League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Volume 3: Century (Starts in 1910, passes by the 1970's, and ends in 2009)

The Black Dossier is more of a standalone story though.


As of 2015, there has also been a spin off story, Nemo.

So a reading order with this spin off trilogy included, could be:

  • Volume I
  • Volume II
  • Black Dossier
  • Volume III
  • Nemo Trilogy

The Nemo trilogy are set in:

  • Heart of Ice 1925 AD
  • The Roses of Berlin 1941 AD
  • River of Ghosts 1975 AD

To read chronologically:

  • Vol 1-2
  • Century: 1910
  • Heart of Ice (1925)
  • The Roses of Berlin (1941)
  • Black Dossier (1958)
  • Century: 1969
  • River of Ghosts (1975)
  • Century: 2009
  • Any reason that chronologically is the best method and none of the other suggestions?
    – Edlothiad
    Commented Jan 31, 2018 at 21:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.