Throughout the various series, we see many classes of probes launched, What do the various classes do? I would think a class 1 probe would be the least advanced whereas a class 4 would be one of the more advanced probes.


1 Answer 1


Your best source is the Star Trek TNG: Technical Manual which details the nine classes of probes.

The manual is at least semi-canonical, being authorised by Roddenberry and written by people involved with the show.

enter image description here

  • Posting a link to an entire ebook is a no-no. Be selective and post just the page :-)
    – Valorum
    Commented Oct 31, 2016 at 9:13
  • @Valorum - wouldn't posting the pages be violating copyright?
    – Tim
    Commented Oct 31, 2016 at 19:25
  • @Tim - No. It would come under the heading of 'fair usage' whereas posting a link to a warez site where you can download the book illegally is clearly well beyond fair use.
    – Valorum
    Commented Oct 31, 2016 at 19:30
  • @Valorum - makes sense. It's easy enough to find anyway :-)
    – Tim
    Commented Oct 31, 2016 at 19:31
  • 1
    @Tim - See edit.
    – Valorum
    Commented Oct 31, 2016 at 19:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.