I just finished Larry Niven's Destroyer of Worlds then picked up Betrayer of Worlds and Fleet of Worlds at the library. A quick check of the dust jacket synopsis doesn't clue me in as to which order I should read them in, and since they are both prequels to Ringworld, I'm not sure the publishing date is a sure indicator of the story's timeline. What order should I read them in?


The order of publication for the Ringworld prequels:

  1. Fleet of Worlds (2007)
  2. Juggler of Worlds (2008)
  3. Destroyer of Worlds (2009)
  4. Betrayer of Worlds (2010)
  5. Fate of Worlds (2012)

Although the books may be enjoyed singly, they do have overlapping plots, characters, and locations - and a sense of continuity that probably makes the most sense in the above order.

  • Awesome. I would have missed "Juggler". Thanks. Mar 23 '12 at 2:12
  • No problem. Enjoy! Mar 23 '12 at 2:38
  • 1
    Fate of Worlds is to be released around summer 2012. From the description on Amazon and the cover, it's a sequel to both the "Fleet of Worlds" and the "Ringworld" series. Mar 27 '12 at 2:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.