Say a wizard performs a spell on himself, such as the Bubble-Head Charm or the Disillusionment Charm. Or another witch or wizard performs a spell on him. Will the effect of these charms not wear off after the wizard Apparates?

It is implicit in the question that these charms still have to be active when the wizard Apparates.

  • Well, Dumbledore Apparated while under the effect of the Ring curse. Is that something like what you mean?
    – Adamant
    Mar 19, 2017 at 19:03
  • No, like the disillusionment charm or the bubble-head charm.
    – aculnaig
    Mar 19, 2017 at 19:12
  • So, specifically a spell cast by an individual themself?
    – Adamant
    Mar 19, 2017 at 19:15
  • 1
    What an oddly specific question.
    – Valorum
    Mar 19, 2017 at 20:05
  • 1
    I'm not sure you've captured the essence of the question with your edit, @Valorum. If I understand it correctly, it's asking about the permanence of spells through Apparation. It's not implicit that said spells have to be concurrent with said Apparation. I.e. They don't have to happen simultaneously. That opens the question out a lot. Mar 19, 2017 at 20:29

1 Answer 1


Yes. Spells are unaffected by Apparition.

Whilst he didn't perform the spell on himself, Ron did have his appearance altered magically before his trip to Gringotts.

Hermione sighed and set to work, muttering under her breath as she transformed various aspects of Ron’s appearance. He was to be given a completely fake identity, and they were trusting to the malevolent aura cast by Bellatrix to protect him.
(Deathly Hallows, Chapter 26, Gringotts).

After he Apparates his disguise is still intact.

Harry turned on the spot, with Griphook on his shoulders, concentrating with all his might on the Leaky Cauldron, the inn that was the entrance to Diagon Alley. The goblin clung even tighter as they moved into the compressing darkness, and seconds later Harry’s feet found pavement and he opened his eyes on Charing Cross Road.
[...] Travers seemed a little taken aback at that, and he turned instead to Ron.
“Who is your friend? I do not recognize him.”
(Deathly Hallows, Chapter 26, Gringotts).

The most natural conclusion is that spells are unaffected by Apparition.

  • The OP is very specifically asking about spells cast on oneself. Not spells cast by other people
    – Valorum
    Mar 19, 2017 at 20:47
  • I think I mistakenly made my question too specific. The cast can be made by a wizard with his own hand/wand or by another wizard.
    – aculnaig
    Mar 19, 2017 at 21:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.