0

Imagine a wizard trainee, who is told that the word "expelliarmus" is in fact the "avada kedavra" spell. Would he actually cast "avada kedavra" or "expelliarmus".

In other words can you think of one spell, think another and actually cast the thought spell instead of the spoken one.

This would be a major advantage, if you can do it and I wonder why everyone prefers the unspoken one.

EDIT: to be clear i dont ask for two spells at the same time, but casting another spell than you have spoken.

  • As is, this question is unclear. It's impossible to cast two spells at the same time. I'm also not sure how you would think one spell and say another. Spells require concentration. Or is the question about how easy it is to pick up new spells, whether new students can perform spells just by saying the words? – The Dark Lord Mar 21 '17 at 23:40
  • Coming to the aid of the the new guy, he is asking whether a wizard can say the name of one spell and cast another (the first of course being a bluff), in this case the wizard is saying Expelliarmus but casts Avada Kedavra (thinking and wanting to kill) while confusing the enemy and having a big advantage over them. @TheDarkLord – Schneejäger Mar 21 '17 at 23:52
  • @BalinsonofFundin If someone casts AK at you the fact that they've said the name of a different spell will be the least of your worries. I'm not sure whether that was actually what the questioner was asking, by the way. – The Dark Lord Mar 21 '17 at 23:57
  • "In other words can you think of one spell, think another and actually cast the thougtthought spell instead of the spoken one. " He kind of does ask that. @TheDarkLord – Schneejäger Mar 22 '17 at 0:00
  • @The Dark Lord see my Edit of the question. – Watte Mar 22 '17 at 0:01
1

I believe that the answer to this question is most easily shown in the first book. In the instance where Hermione corrects Ron for his incorrect pronunciation of "wingardium leviosa," the necessity of the speaking portion of the spell is clearly shown. Even if the wand movement was that of a certain spell, the incantation must also match, or else the spell will be ineffective.

|improve this answer|||||

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.