Step 313 in The Warlock of Firetop Mountain says, in part:

He wears a suit of leather armor no better than your own, holds a wooden shield on one wrist and clutches a steel-bladed sword in his other hand. In his pockets are 8 Gold Pieces and around his neck is a silver crucifix.

You may take any two of these items you wish.

Are the gold pieces collectively one item (i.e., I could take the gold pieces and something else)? Or if I take the crucifix, does that mean I can only take 1 gold piece? I would assume the latter, but then I don't see the point of being told he has 8 gold pieces if I could never take more than two anyways.

Note: I first tried this question over at rpg.stackexchange.com but they said it was off-topic and they sent me here. I expect, however, that the best answer will come from someone who is quite familiar with role-playing-game customs, rather than someone who is just familiar with Sci Fi tropes.

  • 1
    There was a video game adaptation. Would you accept an answer from how they interpret it? – FuzzyBoots May 22 '17 at 17:57
  • 8
    I'm at loss as to why people over at RPG would see this off-topic. Isn't your question about a manual for a game? – Gallifreyan May 22 '17 at 18:06
  • 2
    It's a CYOA solo adventure. You can read the comment thread to see their logic. I don't agree with it. – FuzzyBoots May 22 '17 at 18:09
  • 5
    @Gallifreyan RPG.SE's leading policy position is currently that Choose Your Own Adventure books are off topic on RPG.SE, but that's in debate right now on our meta. – doppelgreener May 22 '17 at 19:05
  • @Doppelgreener - They're firmly on-topic here. Send 'em over! – Valorum May 23 '17 at 8:13

The full text of that last sentence is

You may take any two of these items you wish. Write them on your Equipment List and turn to 221. Also add 1 luck and 1 skill point.

Looking at the text of Step 221, The 8 gold pieces are all one item.

What are these mysterious items you have collected? Which have you written down first on your Equipment List:

The armour?
Turn to 72

The shield?
Turn to 132

The sword?
Turn to 27

The gold?
Turn to 110

The crucifix?
Turn to 170

Images of the steps from the book:
Step 313 Step 221


Gold isn't (normally) considered an item. You can collect it whenever you encounter it and spend it (and subdivide it) however you want. It's recorded in a distinct box on your adventure sheet.

enter image description here

As has been pointed out, in this particular case it's treated as an item but really shouldn't be.

110: You are now 8 Gold Pieces richer. You also find another 2 Gold Pieces in his boot, hidden there for safety. Turn to 91. Record the Gold on your Adventure Sheet.

  • 1
    +1 for the hand-drawn red circle. -1 for that the actual gamebook does treat it as an item for this. :) Although, if you follow to 110, you simply add that gold to your total (and add 2 more). – FuzzyBoots May 22 '17 at 18:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.