4

I am remembering a novel from the 80s, I've never read it but the cover was in the vein of Darrell K. Sweet, Don Maitz or Michael Whelan and featured the gates of a city with merchants are coming and going. One merchant is leading a pack animal that is elephant-sized. Ring any bells?

3
  • 1
    If you've never read it, how are you going to know when we've identified it? Commented May 25, 2017 at 23:36
  • 2
    @DJClayworth - Post a picture of the cover and the OP will say "Yup, that's the one".
    – Valorum
    Commented May 25, 2017 at 23:39
  • possibly the first book of the series IDed at scifi.stackexchange.com/questions/152192/…
    – Otis
    Commented Apr 9 at 15:11

1 Answer 1

7

This could be The Memory of Earth (1993), by Orson Scott Card, with cover art by Keith Parkinson.

The Memory of Earth

The ISFDB has a sharper scan of the cover art.

3
  • My eyesight is not the best. Is there really a large pack animal in that picture?
    – user14111
    Commented May 26, 2017 at 0:11
  • 2
    @user14111 - The pack animal is in the lower right of the picture, heading left through the gate. The animal and gate have similar colouring, and they blend together. The animal is twice as tall as the nearby humans; its head, which resembles a gargoyle's, is above the person in the floating chair, and its back is piled high with goods.
    – Gaultheria
    Commented May 26, 2017 at 0:30
  • 2
    Thank you. As you can imagine, I don't do very well on those "can you find the cat in this picture" puzzles.
    – user14111
    Commented May 26, 2017 at 0:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.