I stopped reading the Riftwar Cycle after the Serpentwar Saga, and I thought about picking it up again now.

I prefer to read everything in publication order, so the next books are the Riftwar Legacy. However, as I understand it they are not considered to be the best in the series, being based on a videogame. Is it possible to skip these books now and move on to either Legends of the Riftwar or Conlave of the Shadows without missing anything crucial?

  • 1
    One can - however, you may not :-)
    – RDFozz
    Jun 28, 2017 at 20:51

1 Answer 1


I did. I also skipped the Legends of the Riftwar and went straight to the Conclave series beginning with "Talon of the Silver Hawk".

I skipped the Legacy books for the same reason you did: based on a computer game. And I skipped Legends because it was side-quest stuff that looked like he was flogging a dead horse, rather than moving on.

I experienced no sense that I was missing plot points at all. Feist backclues a lot: "during the Riftwar {character} had teamed up with {other character} to {do important stuff}" so if there's anything important, he'll update you.

Hope this helps!

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.