Some of Nnedi Okorafor's books are set in the same continuity. But I am not sure which ones are, or if they all are.

  • The Book of Phoenix is clearly a prequel to Who Fears Death.

  • Zahrah the Windseeker is set in Ginen, which also plays a role in The Shadow Speaker, and is of course the setting of "The Lost Diary of Treefrog7." It seems like Akata Witch might be connected here, too?

But it seems difficult to reconcile the ending of Lagoon with The Shadow Speaker, let alone the latter with The Book of Phoenix. And it's not clear where the Binti series fits, if at all.

Are her books all in the same universe? Or, if not, which ones are?

2 Answers 2


Nnedi Okorafor has two universes that get shared between her original novels, plus some work within the Marvel universes. Okorafor recently posted to Twitter:

Lagoon, LaGuardia (my forthcoming comic series/graphic novel) and Binti trilogy are all in the same universe.

The Akata books, Remote Control (forthcoming novel), The Book of Phoenix, and Who Fears Death are all in the same universe (& connected to Zahrah the Windseeker)

So this means for one universe there are the following books:

For the other universe, which you and other fans know as the Ginen universe:

Zahrah the Windseeker is “connected” to this universe but not “in” it, so I'm not sure what that means for its canonical placement. Okorafor explains at the beginning of this youtube interview that the Ginen universe's name has a particular meaning, so it may be that Zahrah was borne out of the same themes but doesn't exist chronologically and physically in the same realm as these stories:

Okorafor: The word “ginen” is [an idea that] enslaved Africans used to refer to the Africa that they couldn't remember. So I always remember that phrase ginen, ginen, ginen, that word ginen, and when I created this world that was what I wanted to name it. I guess really it's the mythical Africa. It's what is remembered in the mind and in the soul, in the body, in the spirit. It's the Africa that exists but doesn't exist. So that's where that came from, and then it just sort of took on its own shape after I started writing about it.

Nnedi Okorafor has also been writing for Marvel Comics recently which is technically a whole new universe added to her works (or more than one, given Marvel's various timelines). These currently include the following series:

  • 1
    Note that in Akata Woman, the connection between Ginen and Sunny's Earth is clarified: they are separate worlds that can be accessed by traveling through the wilderness.
    – Adamant
    Jul 9, 2022 at 11:43
  • I'll leave it to you (or someone else) to edit it in, but LaGuardia has been out for some time now, as are Remote Control and Noor,
    – SQB
    Jul 20, 2022 at 14:49

They are all a part of the Ginen Universe Nnedi Okorafor talks about it in a youtube video


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.