6

The game can only end when the Snitch has been caught, or by mutual agreement of the two teams' Captains; the latter is very rare, however, as one team would have to lose. (source: HP Wikia on Golden Snitch)

Is there an example from canon of this resolution to the game ever happening?

  • Odd, I thought the snitch was just worth a lot of points. Someone catches the snitch every game? – Gorchestopher H Jul 11 '12 at 19:03
  • @GorchestopherH Yep. Every Quidditch game we see in the books & movies is ended by someone catching the Snitch. I feel like there may be some pro/international games that are discussed which don't explicitly state how they ended though so that's why I'm going with a comment =/ – Windle Jul 11 '12 at 19:11
  • I think it's in the first book, someone is explaining to Harry how the game works, and they bring up the fact that some games lasted for days and almost weeks because the snitch wasn't caught. I think one of those occasions might be one of the times Captains came to agreement of ending the game, but I don't have details. – onewho Jul 11 '12 at 19:18
  • 1
    Quidditch seems like a low scoring game, hard to understand why they made the only thing that can end the game worth 15 normal goals. – Gorchestopher H Jul 11 '12 at 20:51
  • @GorchestopherH - 150 Galleons are worth it (read up the history of the Snitch in QTTA) – DVK-on-Ahch-To Jul 11 '12 at 21:32
9

The wiki is quoting Quidditch Through The Ages correctly. The quote, worded exactly as the question states, is on page 23.

While I can't find an example of a game ending specifically by mutual consent of the team captains, page 23 also says this:

There is a tale that the Golden Snitch evaded capture for six months on Bodmin Moor in 1884, both teams finally giving up in disgust...

It's possible the team captains agreed, and it's just not specifically stated in the account.

2

Philosopher's Stone chapter 10 contradicts this flatly. In here, Oliver Wood, captain of the Gryffindor Quidditch team explains:

’[…] A game of Quidditch only ends when the Snitch is caught, so it can go on for ages – I think the record is three months, they had to keep bringing on substitutes so the players could get some sleep. […]’

Thus, unless some later canon overrides this, the wiki you're quoting is wrong.

  • 1
    I presumed that the wiki entry came from Quidditch Through The Ages but if not then I believe you are right. – NominSim Jul 11 '12 at 19:54
  • 1
    @NominSim - yeah, if anywhere it's likely to be QTTA. – DVK-on-Ahch-To Jul 11 '12 at 20:10
  • 1
    Who is to say that Wood's knowledge is perfect? He seems quite unsure of himself in that quote... – PearsonArtPhoto Jul 11 '12 at 23:13
  • 4
    Pearsonartphoto: he's unsure about the history. I think he's sure about the rules. He could be simplifying the rules though, because Harry has never heared of them before. He also doesn't list the “seven hundred ways of committing a Quidditch foul” (PS ch. 11). – b_jonas Jul 11 '12 at 23:48
0

I can't see team captains agreeing, unless (a) they agree to a draw, or (b) the losing team is so tired that they've given up all hope of winning.

In any event, a Quidditch game can end in a tie the normal way. If a team is trailing by 150 points, and that team's seeker catches the snitch, the game ends in a tie.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.