-3

This question already has an answer here:

In Avengers: Endgame, Captain America

lifts Mjølnir and uses lightning to attack Thanos. However, Thor's hammer doesn't have the power to bring lightning, Thor does. I mean, he is the God of Thunder, not Steve or anybody who just becomes worthy of lift the hammer!

How can this be explained?

marked as duplicate by TheLethalCarrot, Shreedhar, Paulie_D, Rebel-Scum, Jenayah May 3 at 9:25

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 2
    This is also an exact copy of the original version of the question you posted yesterday that was marked as a duplicate. Please don't repost a question, instead you can edit your original question to explain why it isn't a duplicate if you believe it not to be. – TheLethalCarrot May 3 at 9:20
  • 1
    Your question contains several very important spoilers. I have edited it to add spoiler sections and make it a bit more clear. Please have a look and make sure I didn't alter the meaning. – Rebel-Scum May 3 at 9:21
-2

The hammer itself is a tool for Thor to channel his powers as god of thunder. However, the exact enchantment placed on Mjølnir is given to us in the first Thor film:

Whosoever holds this hammer, if he be worthy, shall possess the power of Thor.
Odin, Thor

From this, anyone judged worthy to lead Asgard is allowed to weild the hammer, and if they aren't Thor then they are permitted to use his powers while having Mjølnir in their possession.

  • 4
    Please don't answer questions that are clear duplicates. – TheLethalCarrot May 3 at 9:24
  • My bad, answered before it was marked as such. – Ongo May 3 at 9:29

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.