3

This question already has an answer here:

Now that Tyrion is no longer a fugitive of the Crown and as the most senior successor to be ruler of Casterly Rock, can he be head of House Lannister as well as being Hand of the King?

marked as duplicate by Aegon game-of-thrones May 21 at 20:30

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 3
    Eddard Stark was also Hand without renouncing his lordship over the North. I'm sure there are other examples of ruling nobles serving as Hand. (In fact, I'd be interested in an example of a Hand who wasn't already the head of a major house.) – chepner May 21 at 20:13
  • 1
    @Aegon the question is from 2 years ago with no answers given recently, my question relates to the last episode of the final season so related but not a dupe and certainly not answered – Seamusthedog May 21 at 20:52
  • 4
    @Seamusthedog in this case, bounty the other one with the reason "looking for an updated answer". This is the proper way to do it, not re-ask it :) – Jenayah May 21 at 21:12
  • 2
    The accepted answer on the dupe target has been consistently updated, and is current as of the series finale – amflare May 21 at 21:13
  • 2
    @Seamusthedog Since I made the edits, I'd say no they were made after I saw your question. That question did not come to my mind until I saw yours. IF you knew about that older question, you can have asked the answerers for updated answers or started a bounty as Jenayah said. That doesn't make your question non-dupe. – Aegon May 22 at 10:15
9

Yes Tyrion can be Lord of Casterly Rock and Hand of the King as Tywin Lannister, his father, had been before him. As Tyrion is the most senior member of House Lannister left alive, see here, he would be Lord of Casterly Rock unless the King assigned it to someone else. Lacking any evidence this is the case we can assume Tyrion holds the position.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.