So I'm nearing the end of the fourth season of Doctor Who on Amazon Prime. And I see there's also a David Tennant Special. And then there are also the Christmas Specials. So, other than watching the regular seasons in order, is there an order to the specials? Like S01, S02,S03, S04, David Tennant special, S05, Christmas Special season 5, S06.

Like I made up the above, but going by the Amazon prime system, is there a correct/better order?

1 Answer 1


Unfortunately, Amazon has made a dog's breakfast of Doctor Who, splitting up random Tennant episodes and the Christmas Specials into separate "shows" that should not be separate, splitting out various other miscellaneous items and combining them with unrelated materials, and even putting seasons in the wrong order. There is no difference between "the David Tennant Specials" and the regular episodes, except that they do not have "regular" episode numbers and for some reason this has motivated Amazon to split them out.

In general, you should watch the episodes in the order they originally aired. This means, starting with Series 1 of the revival (beginning with the Ninth Doctor's introduction in "Rose"), you should watch these seasons and episodes (all names in double quotes are as they appear on Amazon, regardless of what anyone else calls them):

  1. "Season 101" through "Season 401" inclusive (all episodes).
  2. "The David Tennant Specials" (all episodes except "Doctor Who Confidential: [episode]," which is behind-the-scenes material that you might or might not care to watch).
  3. "Season 501"
  4. "A Christmas Carol" (from the Christmas Specials).
  5. "Season 601"
  6. "The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe"
  7. "Season 701"
  8. "The Snowmen"
  9. "Season 702"
  10. "The Day of the Doctor" ("50th Anniversary Collection", "Season 50", episode #8)
  11. "The Time of the Doctor." (Christmas Specials, "Season 2", episode #2).
  12. "Season 801"
  13. "Last Christmas"
  14. "Season 901"
  15. "The Husbands of River Song"
  16. "The Return of Doctor Mysterio"
  17. "Season 1001"
  18. "Twice Upon a Time"
  19. "Season 11." Note that "Season 11" appears above all of the other seasons, because 11 is less than 101.
  20. "Resolution"
  • 16
    Thanks! This is EXACTLY What I was looking for. Also, my timing is impeccable. As I asked this after watching seasons 1-4. :)
    – yulerule
    Jun 19, 2019 at 10:41
  • 1
    You can see the broadcast order at sites such as tardis.fandom.com/wiki/List_of_Doctor_Who_television_stories and shannonsullivan.com/doctorwho/tv.html.
    – gidds
    Jun 19, 2019 at 18:48
  • 1
    This answer is gold! Well done!
    – bitsmack
    Jun 20, 2019 at 2:53
  • TheTVDB.com is a also a great resource for this. They'll show you the aired order, DVD/Bluray order and several other possible orderings.
    – FreeMan
    Jun 20, 2019 at 11:59
  • 1
    @JonathanReez: When I follow your link, I see this. The specials are not there, and have to be searched for as if they were entirely separate shows. I don't know what Amazon is showing to you, however.
    – Kevin
    Jun 22, 2019 at 0:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.