The 2013 movie The Conjuring was the one which started the franchise, but it's not the first movie if we consider the chronology. Afterwards, there have been multiple sequels and spin-offs that do not match the linear timeline order and the viewer might get confused (For example, Annabelle the doll is already with the Warrens in the first Conjuring movie, but how Warrens got her was explained in movies that came later).

What is the order that someone should watch these movies to get the correct idea of the timeline?

1 Answer 1


So far, there are 9 official movies in the Conjuring Universe.

In the following list, the first year in bold is the year that the events of each movie takes place, while the second year in brackets is the year that each movie was released.

1952: The Nun (2018)
1955: Annabelle: Creation (2017)
1956: The Nun 2 (2023)
1967: Annabelle (2014)
1971: The Conjuring (2013)
1972: Annabelle Comes Home (2019)
1973: The Curse of La Llorona (2019)
1977: The Conjuring 2 (2016)
1981: The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It (2021)

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.