I can't for the life of me remember the title of this book. There is an outcast female who is not like the others of her village (who reside in a crevice) she can shape-shifting into multiple different forms and when she has to leave everything she knows. I believe this is a series with the girl going to a seaside cliff type village next.

  • 2
    When did you read it? Roughly how long ago was it published? What language was it in? Can you describe anything about the book cover?
    – FreeMan
    Oct 24, 2023 at 23:29
  • 3
    The Chronicles of Mavin Manyshaped by Sheri S. Tepper might be worth having a look at.
    – DafyddNZ
    Oct 25, 2023 at 1:17
  • 1
    @DafyddNZ it seems very likely this is The Song of Mavin Manyshaped. Are you going to post that as an answer? Oct 25, 2023 at 4:30
  • 1
    Hi Tammy. If you're remembering the Mavin Manyshaped books she flees the village with her brother Mertyn to escape being gang raped by the village elders. In the second book Mavin goes to a village built on the side of the cliff and occupied by people called Birders. Oct 25, 2023 at 6:09

1 Answer 1


The Chronicles of Mavin Manyshaped a trilogy by Sheri S. Tepper consists of three books The Song of Mavin Manyshaped, The Flight of Mavin Manyshaped, and The Search of Mavin Manyshaped, it has also been released as an omnibus.

In the world of The True Game shapeshifters usually only have 2-3 shapes they can assume, Mavin is called manyshaped as she can seemingly take on any shape.

The Song of Mavin Manyshaped tells of her escaping from her village with her younger brother after reaching adolescence.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.