At one point in Game of Thrones, it says that no longer are there Seven Kingdoms, since they have been united, but now there are provinces:

That was close on three hundred years ago, when the Seven Kingdoms were kingdoms, not mere provinces of a greater realm.

What are the names of these provinces, and which houses control them?

  • 3
    scifi.stackexchange.com/questions/28004/… - Possible duplicate. That question lists them as kingdoms instead of provinces, but I believe the names stay the same.
    – fire.eagle
    Commented Dec 15, 2012 at 0:12
  • @fire.eagle No, I'm specifically asking about the provinces that were formed after the unification of the Seven Kingdoms. They are two separate things (although they may overlap in parts). Commented Dec 15, 2012 at 0:13
  • 2
    @DjangoReinhardt Actually, I think they are exactly the same. The kings of the old kingdoms became lords, but the areas are the same, except that the riverlands and iron islands became separate. It is interesting that the crownlands seemed to be independent before the conquest. Wonder if that ties in to the story told to Brienne by Dick Crabb.
    – TLP
    Commented Dec 15, 2012 at 17:06
  • @TLP There's overlap, but I wanted to be sure, and as you point out, the answers are actually different. I don't know what to make of the Crownlands, and who may have controlled that area (if indeed it was seen as separate then). Perhaps a good question to post? :) Commented Dec 15, 2012 at 17:50
  • @DjangoReinhardt Could be. I can't recall anything being said about it in the books, except what Dick Crabb mentioned.
    – TLP
    Commented Dec 15, 2012 at 17:55

1 Answer 1


It really depends on how you define provinces. But it is mostly agreed that Westeros is divided into these large chunks. Note: this is the political situation at the beginning of Game of Thrones only.

Westeros Political Map

  1. The North. Which pretty much includes everything north of the Neck and south of the Wall. It is ruled by House Stark from their seat at Winterfell.
  2. The Riverlands. South of the Neck and encompassing the fertile area containing much of Westeros's rivers (hence the name). It is ruled by House Tully from their seat at Riverrun.
  3. The Westerlands. The area to the west of Westeros. It is ruled by House Lannister from their seat at Casterly Rock.
  4. The Iron Islands. Seven large islands to the north west of Westeros.. They are ruled by House Grayjoy from their seat at Pyke.
  5. The Vale of Arryn. A mountainous area to the east of Westeros. It is ruled by House Arryn from their seat at The Eyrie.
  6. The Crownlands. The area surrounding the capital, King's Landing. It is directly ruled by the Crown (at the time King Robert Baratheon, first of his name ... etc etc.)
  7. The Reach. Fertile area to the south west of Westeros. It is ruled by House Tyrell from their seat at Highgarden.
  8. Dorne. Arrid area to the south east of Westeros. It is ruled by House Martell from their seat at Sunspear.
  9. The Stormlands. Coastal area between Dorne and the Crownlands. It is ruled by House Baratheon from their seat at Storm's End.

Each of these lands and their respective Great Houses rule over a large number of feudal lords who have their own lands within the greater province.

  • 3
    That political map probably isn't from the beginning of Game of Thrones, as it gives the Crownlands to House Targaryen :) Thanks, though! Commented Dec 15, 2012 at 0:20
  • 2
    At the beginning of Game of Thrones the map is the same, but Targaryen zone is "Crown zone", so it's also Baratheon, but only while their house keeps as kings.
    – greuze
    Commented Feb 28, 2013 at 9:10
  • 1
    I think the Crownlands were originally House Targaryen's lands and Westeros's seat of power (King's Landing) was built within House Targaryen's lands because they were the King's of Westeros up until Robert Baratheon took the throne.
    – user13816
    Commented Apr 14, 2013 at 17:36
  • 1
    @jaybird93 - That's true. When the Targaryens fled Valyria after the Doom they colonized Dragonstone. When Aegon I started his conquest he built the city of King's Landing on the site where his forces first landed, and made it his capitol. As such, the surrounding lands became property of the Crown. Commented Apr 14, 2013 at 23:23
  • 1
    But these are 9, not 7 kingdoms. So which are the 7 kingdoms that are constantly referred to? Also, I'm surprised to find the Iron Islands to the west. The opening sequence of the TV show made me believe they're to the east, and looked more like the Three Sisters.
    – mcv
    Commented Jun 12, 2014 at 11:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.