7

Is there a novelization of Pandorum?

If not, did anyone else write about the inhabitants of a generation ship going feral?

  • Isn't this a bit like wanting a novelization of the Doom movie? – DampeS8N Jan 15 '11 at 5:35
  • @DampeS8N: 3 stars on Amazon! Doom – Bill the Lizard Jan 15 '11 at 18:06
  • 3
    @Bill the Lizard: I've officially lost faith in humanity. – DampeS8N Jan 15 '11 at 18:34
  • 1
    And John Shirley was once a relatively respected author... – TGnat Feb 8 '11 at 2:08
  • 1
    John Shirley still is a respected author in my book. But he has bills to pay like the rest of us. Hence the ton of novelizations he was written in the past few years (BioShock: Rapture; Aliens: Steel Egg; Predator: Forever Midnight; Doom; Constantine) – Dan Geiser Feb 14 '11 at 19:25
4

"Orphans of The Sky" by Robert A Heinlein. It is very different from most of his other books and does not seem to connect into his "universe". It has a fast plot with a space opera feel to it.

  • 1
    Actually, as I recall, it has a small connection to 'Time Enough for Love', where he mentions the decedents having been found, but admits to not having a list of the myths available. ""I wasn't arguing it, Ancestor. I'm a mathematical historiographer; my nose is rubbed in that fact. But has news reached here of the flight of the 'Vanguard'? The original 'Vanguard,' I mean-pre-Diaspora." Chapter: VARIATIONS ON A THEME-XIV, section Bacchanalia. – K-H-W Dec 24 '11 at 17:40
  • Orphans actually contains "Universe" mentioned in Matthew's answer :) – DVK-on-Ahch-To Jan 14 '12 at 21:44
4

"Universe" by Robert A Heinlein is a story along these lines.

Like most of RAF's work it is well worth reading.

3

"Non-Stop" by Brian Aldiss takes place aboard a generation ship.

3

And in the "Helliconia" trilogy by Aldiss there is a spaceship, where the inhabitants lose contact with earth. Their society degenerates as well.

2

Hull Zero Three by Greg Bear is quite similar to Pandorum. Many people have remarked on the similarities, which has cause some bad reviews. On the other hand, plenty of good reviews on Amazon too, so it's still on my list.

Product Description

HULL ZERO THREE is an edge of your seat thrill-ride through the darkest reaches of space, from one of the genre's biggest names. Perfect for fans of Arthur C. Clarke's RAMA or the film EVENT HORIZON. A starship hurtles through the emptiness of space. Its destination - unknown. Its purpose? A mystery. Its history? Lost. Now, one man wakes up. Ripped from a dream of a new home, a new planet and the woman he was meant to love in his arms, he finds himself wet, naked, and freezing to death. The dark halls are full of monsters but trusting other survivors he meets might be the greater danger. All he has are questions: Who is he? Where are they going? What happened to the dream of a new life? What happened to the woman he loved? What happened to Hull 03? All will be answered, if he can survive. Uncover the mystery. Fix the ship. Find a way home.

2

"Mayflies" by Kevin O'Donnell tells the story of a generation ship, built as an escape from a dying Earth.

Without going into too many spoilers, the central computer fails and shuts off the main drive, making the journey take much longer than expected. The passengers don't handle this well.

1

I'd add The Book of the Long Sun tetralogy by Gene Wolf.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.