Does it mean "A master has only one apprentice, if he becomes a master we part and search for new apprentices each" or always "enter random number here" masters with apprentice, or even "There can only be two" in Highlander fashion?

  • I only know the six films, can't answer it from that Commented Aug 22, 2014 at 12:29
  • That question explains the Rule of Two pretty well within the EU. However, as I explained here, I personally believe that the G-Canon "Rule of Two" has been misunderstood and distorted from what was intended.
    – phantom42
    Commented Aug 22, 2014 at 12:34
  • I think the Highlander fashion is the right interpretation (in EU terms at least): "When your power eclipses mine I will become expendable. This is the Rule of Two: one Master and one apprentice. When you are ready to claim the mantle of Dark Lord as your own, you must do so by eliminating me." ―Darth Bane, to Darth Zannah in "Darth Bane: Rule of Two"
    – BMWurm
    Commented Aug 22, 2014 at 12:36
  • @phantom42 I checked that question, it didn't answer mine. And if the answer to my question is hidden in the answer of the other one ... didn't read them all, but there've been too many suggestions for my taste. The quote of BMWurm indeed answers, but that doesn't make sense if the intention was strengthening the Sith. (Not strictly) Monotonous decreasing and limited (to 0) means extinction Commented Aug 22, 2014 at 12:43
  • 1
    @PaulD.Waite Sorry, I don't understand what your comment is up to. What are you trying to say? Commented Aug 22, 2014 at 14:05


Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.