I don't remember the latter two books, but I remember the first. In the first book we are in another dark age, and receive an extraterrestrial signal. This forces a group of scientists to help uplift human civilization, and travel to the extraterrestrial signal's planet of origin. There it is discovered they are a lost human colony from a previous advanced ice age human civilization.

Does anyone remember the titles of the books or the series name?


1 Answer 1


I'd guess you're remembering the Trigon Disunity series by Michael P. Kube-Mcdowell.

enter image description here


The devastating Food and Fuel Wars have turned once-powerful nations into isolated farming communities. Barter has replaced currency , and scientist - considered responsible for the world's misery, are burned at the stake. Hidden in the Idaho hills, astronomer Allen Chandliss secretly monitors his radio telescope, listening for signs of intelligent life, hoping that aliens will come and improve things on Earth. For seventeen years he has waited patiently. His patience is about to pay off...

  • 1
    Trigon Disunity is the series I was looking for. Thank you!
    – B Warren
    Commented Jan 22, 2015 at 15:27
  • To help build your reputation as well as the answerer's, be sure to click on the check mark to mark the answer as correct. Commented Jan 31, 2015 at 21:28
  • It's been a while since I read this trilogy, but iirc the ice age space faring civilisation was named after the Weichselian glaciation
    – Alith
    Commented Mar 23, 2018 at 22:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.