When Cooper crosses Gargantua's event horizon (after detaching from Endurance), everything goes pitch black. But why? Cooper should still have been able to see the portion of light from the accretion disk that also crosses the event horizon. Crossing the event horizon simply means that light can't ever get back out, not that it disappears straight away. This is the same reasoning that says that a meteorite that crosses the Earth's event horizon (i.e., the point where the escape velocity of the Earth's gravity well exceeds the velocity of the meteorite) can't get out to space again, but it doesn't disappear or immediately plonk straight down to the ground.

closed as off-topic by KutuluMike, phantom42, alexwlchan, Null, Ward Feb 16 '15 at 14:29

This question appears to be off-topic. The users who voted to close gave this specific reason:

  • "Questions seeking scientific solutions or explanations are off-topic unless they relate directly to a cited work of fiction. There are a number of other Stack Exchange sites dedicated to answering questions on non-fictional sciences." – KutuluMike, phantom42, alexwlchan, Null, Ward
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 1
    This question should be here: Space Exploration Exchange. – Daft Feb 16 '15 at 13:05
  • 1
    @Daft If this gets migrated, I think Physics is a better home than Space Exploration. – alexwlchan Feb 16 '15 at 13:23
  • @alexwlchan ah I knew there was a more suitable one than space exploration!! Cheers – Daft Feb 16 '15 at 13:25
  • 2
  • 1
    @phantom42 Tha clause "unless they relate directly to a cited work of fiction" seems kind of silly. I guess science questions are off topic regardless of whether they pertain to a cited work? – user14111 Feb 16 '15 at 15:13

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.