I'm looking for a series of fantasy books which involve a character transferring his soul to another body every time he dies.

The protagonist is, I believe, the red-haired son of a general. He dies for the first time during a mission to a rival kingdom during which he is to negotiate the wedding of his kingdom's princess.

His body is then transferred to the hated adversary (I think a prince). The next time he swaps bodies, I believe, is into the body of a leader of a mountain clan...

Can anyone help me to find the title of this series? I read it about ten years ago and have been aching to find it again...


  • I remember a similar plot, the main character shows mercy to a witch about to be executed. She casts a spell on him, just as she is about to die. The spell causes him to swap bodies with whoever starts to kill him. Over the course of the 2 or 3 novels, he shifts in few different bodies, male and female.
    – KenM
    Jun 23, 2015 at 0:31

1 Answer 1


The name of the series is the Quickening trilogy by Fiona McIntosh. Myrren, a witch gives the power to Wyl Thirsk, the red-haired son of a general, as he witnesses her death. The series consists of Myrren's Gift, Blood and Memory and Bridge of Souls. There is a mountain king, Cailech, who he switches bodies with.

enter image description here

  • Whoa, that's great! Thanks KenM! That's it exactly :)
    – Kobcadt
    Jun 23, 2015 at 17:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.