Skip to main content

For questions about the series of epic fantasy novels titled "A Song of Ice and Fire" written by George R. R. Martin. For questions about the TV series based on this series, use the [game-of-thrones] tag instead. If your question is overlapping in scope, you may use both tags. Append any relevant character tags. Only use [george-r-r-martin] for questions about the author himself.

A Song of Ice and Fire is a series of epic fantasy novels written by George R. R. Martin. There are currently 5 books in the series:

  • A Game of Thrones (1996)
  • A Clash of Kings (1998)
  • A Storm of Swords (2000)
  • A Feast for Crows (2005)
  • A Dance with Dragons (2011)

The third and fifth books were each published in two volumes, e.g. A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow and A Storm of Swords: Blood and Gold. The sixth book, The Winds of Winter, is still in writing.

George has indicated that he wishes to end the series with the seventh book A Dream of Spring however he also maintained that might change.

George R.R. Martin has also written several prequels for the series which are:

  • Tales of Dunk and Egg (Total 6-12 planned installments with 9 named and 3 released):

    1. Dunk & Egg: The Hedge Knight (1998)
    2. Dunk & Egg: The Sworn Sword (2003)
    3. Dunk & Egg: The Mystery Knight (2010)
    4. Dunk & Egg: The She-Wolves of Winterfell (Under progress)
    5. Dunk & Egg: The Village Hero (Under progress)
    6. Dunk & Egg: The Sellsword (Planned)
    7. Dunk & Egg: The Champion (Planned)
    8. Dunk & Egg: The Kingsguard (Planned)
    9. Dunk & Egg: The Lord Commander (Planned)
  • The Princess and The Queen (2013): Published in The Dangerous Women anthology. Also included in Fire and Blood: Volume 1.

  • The Rogue Prince (2014): Published in The Rogues anthology. Also included in Fire and Blood: Volume 1.
  • The Sons of the Dragon (2017): Published in The Book of Swords anthology. Also included in Fire and Blood: Volume 1.

George has also written a companion book titled The World of Ice and Fire (2014) in partnership with Elio M. GarcĂ­a Jr. and Linda Antonsson.

George has written another companion book titled The Lands of Ice and Fire (2012) where the maps are drawn by Jonathan Roberts.

A planned complete history of House Targaryen officially titled Fire and Blood is in the works and planned to be released in two volumes. It was unofficially called the GRRMarillion. The first volume has been released in 2018.

For the television series Game of Thrones, please use .

For questions about George R. R. Martin, please use .

Internal links

External links