For questions about "Babylon 5", a 5 season television series developed by J. Michael Straczynski. Primarily, it's the story of the 5th Babylon space station, built by the Earth Alliance as a meeting place for commerce and diplomacy in neutral territory after the Earth-Minbari War.

Babylon 5 is a 5 season sci-fi TV series with elements of political thrillers and military adventures, developed by J. Michael Straczynski and set between the years 2258 and 2262, that led to 7 DVD movies, one spin-off series (Crusade), several books, comics and a dedicated magazine.

One of the most adult approaches to sci-fi story-telling ever aired, the character-driven plots and multi-year story-arcs drew on prophecies, religious zealotry, racial tensions, social pressures, and political rivalries from all the major races both internally and between each other.

The series tells the story of the 5th Babylon space station (the previous 4 suffering from "accidents"), built by the Earth Alliance after almost loosing the Earth-Minbari War. Located in neutral territory, its purpose is to serve as a meeting place for commerce and diplomacy, with the goal of avoiding future wars.

The major political and military civilizations of the series are:

  • the Earth Alliance
  • the Minbari Federation
  • the Centauri Republic
  • the Narn Regime
  • the Drazi
  • the Vorlon Empire
  • the Shadows