Use this tag when asking for the in-universe chronological order of published works in the same sci-fi/fantasy series or fictional universe. To ask for suggestions on the best reading or viewing order, which may not be the same as the chronological order, use the [suggested-order] tag instead.

Chronological (time) order can be either:

  • Out-of-universe (i.e. the dates the works were created or released)
  • In-universe (the order that events occurred within the fictional universe)

This tag is for requesting the chronological order of works that are set in the same fictional universe. To request a suggested reading or viewing order instead, use the tag .

Examples of ordering works, using the first six Star Wars films:

Release order

  1. IV – A New Hope (1977)
  2. V – The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
  3. VI – Return of the Jedi (1983)
  4. I – The Phantom Menace (1999)
  5. II – Attack of the Clones (2002)
  6. III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)

Chronological order

  1. I – The Phantom Menace
  2. II – Attack of the Clones
  3. III – Revenge of the Sith
  4. IV – A New Hope
  5. V – The Empire Strikes Back
  6. VI – Return of the Jedi

Viewing order

The viewing order for the Star Wars films could be either of the above, or another order entirely.

history | excerpt history