Skip to main content

For questions about Discworld, a series of comic fantasy books by Terry Pratchett.

Discworld is a series of comic fantasy books by Terry Pratchett , set on the Discworld, a flat world.

Discworld books are chock-full of jokes and more or less obscure allusions to historical anecdotes, classical mythology and fairy tales, earlier writers, contemporaneous pop-culture and more. Many of these are documented in the collaboratively-maintained Annotated Pratchett File (APF).

The Discworld books are organized in several storylines. The suggested reading order of these books has been the subject of intense debate.

The Discworld

The Discworld is a flat disc balanced on the back of four elephants standing on the back of a turtle floating in space. A Discworld year lasts 800 days.

The Discworld is ruled by narrative causality: what happens is what the Story makes happen (however, the characters write the Story to some extent). The gods of the Discworld are constrained by narrative causality as well, and their power is tributary to the people who believe in them.

Most of the Discworld has humans as a dominant species, but it is also populated by dwarfs, trolls, gnomes and other fantasy species as well as various kinds of undead.

Discworld books

The Discworld series includes:


External references