For questions about the team of mutant superheros in the Marvel universe. Always use in conjunction with the [marvel] tag. When asking about the comics use the [comics] tag, if asking about the film series use the [x-men-cinematic-universe] tag. Include any other relevant media or character tags.

The X-Men are a superhero team in the Marvel Universe, all of whom are mutants and therefore posses an innate special power due to genetic mutation. This franchise first appeared in 1963 in comics by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby and have since gone on to include dozens of spin-off comic book titles, several feature films and 3 animated series.

The X-Men first appeared in X-Men #1 (September 1963), written by Stan Lee with art by Jack Kirby. Both creators left the book relatively early (Kirby with issue #17, Lee with #19) and the book never reached the popularity that Amazing Spider-Man, Fantastic Four and Avengers reached. The book was canceled in 1970 with issue #66, and was reborn a few months later as a reprint title.

While the X-Men guest-starred in other Marvel Comics in the early '70s, their ongoing series did not feature new stories were told until the publication of Giant-Size X-Men #1 (May 1975). This giant-size issue featured the debut of Storm, Colossus, Nightcrawler and Thunderbird, all of whom joined the team. It also added pre-existing characters Banshee, Sunfire and Wolverine to the roster. This proved so popular that Marvel started publishing new stories with X-Men #94 (August 1975). The comic's name was officially changed to Uncanny X-Men with issue #142.

After the relaunch in 1975, the X-Men have grown from being a cult hit to a mainstream sensation, both earning critical praise for longtime writer Chris Claremont's mature storylines and breaking world records (1991's X-Men volume 2 #1 sold 8.1 million copies). The X-Men franchise grew in the 1980s with the introduction of spin-off comics New Mutants, X-Factor, Wolverine and Excalibur. The line continued to grow in the 1990s with X-Force, X-Men volume 2, Cable, Generation X, X-Man, and countless mini-series. Since 2000, titles like Astonishing X-Men, New X-Men, Young X-Men, and X-Treme X-Men rounded out the lineup. The current lineup of X-Men comics includes:

  • Uncanny X-Force
  • Wolverine and the X-Men
  • X-Men Legacy
  • X-Factor
  • Generation Hope
  • X-Men volume 3
  • Uncanny X-Men volume 2
  • New Mutants volume 3
  • Wolverine volume 4
  • Astonishing X-Men

There have also been 11 feature films based on the X-Men comics. They include:

  • X-Men (2000)
  • X2: X-Men United (2003)
  • X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)
  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009)
  • X-Men: First Class (2011)
  • The Wolverine (2013)
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)
  • Deadpool (2016)
  • X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)
  • Logan (2017)
  • Deadpool 2 (2018)
  • Generation X (TV movie; 1996)

Three animated series and one special have been produced:

  • Pryde of the X-Men (special; 1989)
  • X-Men (1992-1997)
  • X-Men: Evolution (2000-2003)
  • Wolverine and the X-Men (2009)

The franchise also encompasses action figures and numerous video games.