Please only answer this question if you fully understand the rules of transfiguration in HPMOR.

At the end of HPMOR, why didn't Harry transfigure multiple Sorcerer's Stones and use the original Stone to keep the transfigurations in place? The book states that only one stone was ever made due to the diffuculty of the process. And although unstated, although the rules of transfiguration in HPMOR state that merely envisioning the result is enough for transformation to take effect (no matter how complicated it is to make the object normally), it is understandable why no one else tried to transfigure an object into a Sorcerers Stone - because the transfiguration could not maintained forever and the elixir of life would be unsafe to consume.

But once Harry has the original stone, which can render transfigurations permanent, he should be able to transfigure multiple stones. So why doesn't he?

  • 6
    "Flamel" had the original Stone for CENTURIES, maybe "Flamel" tried and never succeeded? Maybe Harry, later in his long and busy life of world domi... er... optimization, will try and succeed - because he's so speshul, so scientific... and knows about the "infinite wishes loophole" in D&D :) Jun 12 '18 at 19:01

In HPMOR transfiguration requires the magic user to visualize the form and the substance. Harry Potter-Evans-Verre discovered partial transfiguration by realizing the subyacent reality of the world is quantum (gaining some freedom regarding the form part) but he still needs to visualize a substance known to him (nanotubes for example).

With that in mind there are 2 possible limitations to recreating the stone:

  1. He may not know the substance that makes the stone. If that is the case he may recreate it once he has enough time to study the original stone with an electronic microscope.

  2. The substance of the stone may not be so important. Let's put it this way if you have a horcrux in the form of a notebook, will transfiguring that notebook be enough to reproduce the magic of the horcrux? We don't know, maybe magical items don't rely on the configiration of the matter for magical effects. It's an interesting topic for experimentation.

I found a quote from HPMOR pointing this:

But Transfiguration, at least the kind they could do, didn’t enchant the targets - it wouldn’t Transfigure a regular broomstick into a flying one.

  • 7
    Yes, to the best of my recollection, there was no indication in either HPMOR or in the original canon that transfiguration could be used to create magical items. You could create a stone, but you'd still have to enchant it to make it into a Philosopher's Stone, and nobody knows how to do that any more. Jun 13 '18 at 0:10
  • 2
    Ram - Well Reasoned. @HarryJohnston if you expand that, that might be a good answer.
    – TheAsh
    Jun 13 '18 at 18:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.