It's pretty obvious that he used the elf equivalent of apparation, but are we ever actually told that? Is any comment made at all about how he found his way in?

Ever since the scene in Goblet of Fire where Crouch's means of disappearance are discussed, I've been finding more and more loopholes in the excuses based around not being able to apparate in Hogwarts. I'm looking to see if we knew anything about how Dobby cheated that rule back in the second book. It's quite odd to me that Dobby's impossible appearances never raised any character's eyebrows after they learned of the "you cannot apparate in Hogwarts" rule.

  • Elf magic is different from human magic – SpacePhoenix Jul 29 at 21:09
  • @SpacePhoenix Yes, that's obviously how Dobby cheated, but are we told that this early on? – J. Mini Jul 29 at 21:11
  • Probably something in either Chamber of Secrets or Prisoner of Askaban – SpacePhoenix Jul 29 at 21:15

In Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, British edition, Apparition isn't mentioned even once.

Apparition results on Chamber of Secrets Apparate results on Chamber of Secrets

In the American edition, Apparition is mentioned, but it isn't related to elf magic. ¡Thanks @Pam for the link! https://www.hp-lexicon.org/2001/10/29/differences-british-us-versions-cs/

In Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire it is mentioned, but nothing related to elf magic or Dobby Apparating in Hogwarts.

I don't recall this topic being explicitly stated until Deathly Hallows, where Harry asked Kreacher how did he leave the cursed Horrcrux cave, and he is surprised that he was able to Dispparate, until Ron reminds him that elf magic is different and they're able to Apparate in Hogwarts when wizards can't.

‘But … you couldn’t Apparate in and out of that cave,’ said Harry, ‘otherwise Dumbledore –’

‘Elf magic isn’t like wizard’s magic, is it?’ said Ron. ‘I mean, they can Apparate and Disapparate in and out of Hogwarts when we can’t.’

Rowling, J.K.. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (p. 157). Pottermore Publishing. Edición de Kindle.

| improve this answer | |
  • It is mentioned in Chamber of Secrets, but only in the American versions. – J. Mini Jul 29 at 23:36
  • This implies apparition is indeed in some versions of CoS but not in relation to elves. – Pam Jul 31 at 17:16
  • 1
    @Pam Thanks for the link! I took the liberty of adding it to the answer – Roberto Jul 31 at 17:51
  • Handy, I've added a bounty for more detail. – J. Mini Jul 31 at 21:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.