I'm interested in reading the Marvel Annihilation stories/arcs. What I don't know is what order to read them in. From what I can tell, there is the main Annihilation series and companion issues like Annihilation: Nova, Annihilation: Starlord, Annihilation: Wraith, etc. (I've seen a handful of different character titles.)

In addition, I've seen an Annihilation: Conquest title as well. I assume all these titles involve characters in the Guardians of the Galaxy team. Is that correct?

Furthermore, I'm interested in reading the standalone Nova series but would like to know how the aforementioned titles sort into that.


Annihilation: Prologue

A 48-page one-shot issue, Annihilation: Prologue, was released on March 15, 2006.

It was followed by four concurrent 4-issue mini-series:

  • Silver Surfer (April 1, 2006),
  • Super-Skrull (April 12, 2006),
  • Nova (April 19, 2006), and
  • Ronan the Accuser (April 26, 2006).

Annihilation was published as a six issue mini series beginning in August 2006.

It was followed by two issues of Annihilation: Heralds of Galactus and a new volume of Nova.

While not published with the Annihilation banner,

  • Drax the Destroyer: Earth Fall #1-4 (Sept 2005) and
  • Thanos #7-12 (2004) were preludes to the event.

Annihilation: Conquest

Volume One (collects "Annihilation: Conquest - Prologue" one-shot, Annihilation: Conquest - Quasar mini-series, Annihilation: Conquest - Starlord mini-series and "Annihilation: Saga" one-shot, 272 pages, Marvel Comics, hardcover, January 2008, ISBN 0-7851-2782-8, softcover, November 2008, ISBN 0-7851-2783-6)

Volume Two (collects Annihilation: Conquest - Wraith mini-series, Nova #4-7 and Annihilation: Conquest limited series, 344 pages, Marvel Comics, hardcover, August 2008, ISBN 0-7851-2716-X, softcover, February 2009, ISBN 0-7851-2717-8)

Some of series involved have been collected in separate softcover releases:

Annihilation: Conquest - Quasar (by Christos Gage and Mike Lilly, collects 4-issue mini-series, January 2008, 96 pages, ISBN 0-7851-2718-6)

Nova Volume 1: Annihilation - Conquest (by Dan Abnett/Andy Lanning, with art by Sean Chen, collects Nova #1-7, 168 pages, December 2007, ISBN 0-7851-2631-7)

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.