I know that if the Seeker was to catch the Snitch, that team would gain 150 points and the event would end the match.

But what happens if another player playing a different position sees the Snitch and catches it? Would it also end the game? Or would the player have to forfeit the Snitch and would it be re-released for the Seekers?

  • 1
    Related: In Quidditch could the Seeker play other positions? — See the accepted answer there.
    – jwodder
    Apr 18, 2012 at 19:31
  • 2
    As far as I'm aware touching the snitch changes it permanently so it would need to be a new snitch. not sure if that helps at all.
    – AncientSwordRage
    Apr 18, 2012 at 19:39
  • @Pureferret Yes, they have "flesh memory", if I'm remembering the name correctly. I remember reading somewhere that the witches/wizards who build Golden Snitches have to wear gloves so that their skin doesn't touch it.
    – Izkata
    Apr 18, 2012 at 23:08
  • @Izkata - I remember this too, but am having a hard time finding it in the books. It's not in Quidditch Through the Ages as far as I can tell, so it must be one of the main books. I just don't know which one. :) Apr 19, 2012 at 1:12
  • @Slytherincess Check the Deathly Hallows, (1) just after the scene where the Ministry official hands the Snitch to Harry, once he's gone, and (2) just before Harry figures out what to do with the Snitch. (I forget if the events were as far apart as in the movie) - I have the strong feeling it was around there.
    – Izkata
    Apr 19, 2012 at 1:16

2 Answers 2


I don't think another player MAY catch the Snitch. In Quidditch Through the Ages, page 29, it says:

(FOUL) Snitchnip: All players but Seeker / Any player other than Seeker touching or catching the Golden Snitch

I'm correcting my original answer -- Yes, it appears it must be the Seeker to catch the Snitch.

  • 6
    I think you should change "can" to "may". Yes they CAN. No they aren't allowed. BTW, this is fairly obviously parallelled from soccer where only goalie is allowed to touch the football with his hands, IMHO Apr 18, 2012 at 20:53
  • @DVK - Fixed it, Mr. Strunk & Bite! ;) Apr 19, 2012 at 23:07

What you're describing is a foul in Quidditch called a Snitchnip. It's defined as

Any player other than Seeker touching or catching the Golden Snitch

Quidditch Through the Ages

The implication is that interfering with the Snitch can cost you a personal penalty...

The referee may award penalties against a team. The Chaser taking the penalty will fly from the central circle towards the scoring area. All players other than the opposing Keeper must keep well back while the penalty is taken.

Quidditch Through the Ages

...but not a sending off.

Down in the stands, Dean Thomas was yelling, ‘Send him off, ref! Red card!’ ‘This isn’t football, Dean,’ Ron reminded him. ‘You can’t send people off in Quidditch – and what’s a red card?’


‘All right, all right. Flint nearly kills the Gryffindor Seeker, which could happen to anyone, I’m sure, so a penalty to Gryffindor, taken by Spinnet, who puts it away, no trouble, and we continue play, Gryffindor still in possession.’

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

And since the snitch (at least in competition play) has had its 'sense memory' interfered with, a new snitch will need to be brought into play.

‘Correct,’ said Scrimgeour. ‘A Snitch is not touched by bare skin before it is released, not even by the maker, who wears gloves. It carries an enchantment by which it can identify the first human to lay hands upon it, in case of a disputed capture.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.